Music Distance Learning Week of May 4, 2020

.  .   

Hello Music Friends – it was wonderful to see all of you in your virtual classrooms this past week! This weeks music lesson is going to focus on some singing/rapping, movement and listening opportunities. (I have been building some new playlists for running since my old grooves have completely been memorized )- what have you been listening to?

As always, anything you create whether visual or audio, please send to my link renauld@leverettschool.org and if you’d like I’ll post it on Leverett Rocks!

For my PreK, Kindergarten, First and Second Grade Friends:

Here is a cool song, that is active – see if you can make it all the way through the song with all the singing and motions!

Here is a picture of my dog Flash – it was wonderful to see how many of you have pets and get to Zoom them into class.

I wrote a song about Flash and would like you to listen to it – maybe you could think of a way to turn your pet’s name into a song? For my friends who don’t have pets – you could create a song about your favorite animal – I would love to hear or see your compositions!

  The Flash Song                                     

(Parents – this weeks activity can take anywhere from 15 minutes, to longer if your child has an interest in composing a song/rap about their pet or another subject. )

For My Third through Sixth Graders

I hope you enjoyed the Old Town Road video and have solved last week’s mystery of The Missing Manuscript – if you haven’t had a chance to explore those lessons I encourage you to give them a try!

This weeks challenge is to listen to the video below about cadence and language in rap music. Then create your own rap using the word “Boom” during the creation time. Then I’d like you to pick one word that works for you and see if you can create a one word rap. For those of you familiar with Garage Band, you can take any of the percussion tracks and layer it underneath. As always -I would love to hear or see your compositions!

 

(Parents – this weeks activity can take anywhere from 20 minutes, to longer if your child has an interest in composing a rap using a poem they have already written or read. The idea is to get them creating to a cadence. )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *